Eat the Poor goes on tour

Musical satirists and socialist comedic geniuses Jonny & The Baptists begin their latest UK tour next month, as their 2016 Edinburgh Fringe show Eat the Poor visits 37 towns and cities across 50 dates.

© Anna Soderblom

© Anna Soderblom

As Jonny Donahoe and Paddy Gervers told TVO last summer, “Eat The Poor is all about inequality, homelessness and the wealth gap. Britain has now been getting steadily more unequal for 37 years and it is breaking our society apart piece by piece, so we’ve spent a whole year travelling round the country researching why we’ve let it get this far. Also there are songs and jokes. And swans.”

With its Les Mis inspired mini-revolution and some truly disgusting cake based antics from Donahoe, the pair shine brighter than ever before (so said TVO in our Fringe Postscript), and we’re very excited to see this hotly tipped duo making waves across the land.

Indeed, several dates have already sold out, and others are very close to following suit, so if you fancy seeing two amazing performers at the top of their game, book your tickets now. For a full list of dates, see below, but first, here’s a freshly prepared interview with Jonny & Paddy for your perusal.

5 MARCH – BRISTOL – Tobacco Factory Theatres | tobaccofactorytheatres.com

7-11 MARCH – EXETER Bike Shed Theatre | bikeshedtheatre.co.uk

12 MARCH – RICHMOND Orange Tree Theatre | orangetreetheatre.co.uk

16-18 MARCH – SALISBURY Salisbury Playhouse | salisburyplayhouse.com

21 MARCH – NORWICH Norwich Playhouse | norwichplayhouse.co.uk

22 MARCH – GUILDFORD Star Inn | guildfordfringe.com

23 MARCH – COLCHESTER Lakeside Theatre | lakesidetheatre.org.uk

24 MARCH – HARLOW Harlow Playhouse | harlowplayhouse.co.uk

25 MARCH – CARDIFF Chapter Arts Centre | chapter.org

28-29 MARCH – NEWCASTLE Northern Stage | northernstage.co.uk

30 MARCH – OXFORD Old Fire Station | oldfirestation.org.uk

31 MARCH – FARNHAM Farnham Maltings | farnhammaltings.com

1 APRIL – BEDFORD Quarry Theatre | quarrytheatre.org.uk

5 APRIL – SUNDERLAND Pop Recs, Sunderland Stages | sunderlandstages.co.uk

6 APRIL – READING South Street Arts | readingarts.com

7 APRIL – HAVANT The Spring Arts Centre | thespring.co.uk

8 APRIL – MILTON KEYNES The Stables | stables.org

11 APRIL – GLASGOW Platform | platform-online.co.uk

12 APRIL – LANCASTER The Dukes | dukes-lancaster.org

21 APRIL – CAMBRIDGE Cambridge Junction | junction.co.uk

22 APRIL – CALSTOCK Calstock Village Hall | calstockhall.com

28 APRIL – CARDIGAN Small World Theatre | smallworld.org.uk

29-30 APRIL – MACHYNLLETH Machynlleth Comedy Festival | machcomedyfest.co.uk

2-6 MAY – PLYMOUTH The Drum, Theatre Royal Plymouth | theatreroyal.co.uk

8-10 MAY – LONDON Soho Theatre | sohotheatre.com

11 MAY – BIRMINGHAM mac | macbirmingham.co.uk

12 MAY – CORSHAM Pound Arts | poundarts.org.uk

13 MAY – FRITWELL Fritwell Village Hall | fritwellvillagehall.co.uk

15 MAY – HOVE The Old Market | theoldmarket.com

19 MAY – FAREHAM Ashcroft Arts Centre | hampshireculturaltrust.org.uk

20 MAY – EASTLEIGH The Point | thepointeastleigh.co.uk

21 MAY – IPSWICH New Wolsey Theatre | wolseytheatre.co.uk

23 MAY – EDINBURGH The Stand | thestand.co.uk

24 MAY – GLASGOW The Stand | thestand.co.uk

25 MAY – MONIAIVE Craigdarroch Arms Hotel | craigdarrocharmshotel.co.uk

26 MAY – BARNSLEY The Civic | barnsleycivic.co.uk

27 MAY – SALFORD The Lowry | thelowry.com

And if you like what you see, the demo album featuring early versions of tracks featured in Eat the Poor is available on Bandcamp now, alongside the band’s previous recordings over yonder.

Tell us what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: